Previously the private home of Sir Edward and Lady Ursula Hayward, Carrick Hill is now for everyone to enjoy. Find out more about the estate’s unique history, its evolution from country home to national treasure, and its enduring importance today.
Their marriage in 1935 brought together two of Adelaide's most prominent families. Their shared love of art, gardening, books and travel created the unique Carrick Hill legacy that was gifted to the nation in 1989. Find out more about the couple's life at Carrick Hill here.
Carrick Hill houses treasures bought by the Haywards on their honeymoon in England from the demolished Beaudesert Estate in Staffordshire. This included Tudor staircases, panelling, windows and doors, as well as 16th-18th century oak furniture - now unquestionably the finest examples in Australia.
The Haywards moved in to Carrick Hill during the winter of 1939, only to be torn apart soon after by the Second World War when Bill left to serve in the Middle East. After the war, they focused on filling the house with a wealth of paintings, sculpture, antiques and drawings, spanning nearly 500 years of artistic achievement.
Today, Carrick Hill is visited by over 100,000 people each year, keen to explore the renowned art collections, impressive interiors and enchanting gardens. You can discover some key features of the interiors and gardens online here.